THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

Wednesday, Oct. 27, 2004 - 11:18 p.m.

Why I'm voting for John Kerry

Maybe I'm just all caught up in the editorial endoresments as we get into the final week of this presidential campaign. More than that, though, I feel a need to lay out -- for myself, above all else -- exactly why I feel the way I do. Four years ago, I had a feeling, and I didn't know why, that electing George W. Bush would be a sign of bad things to come. I don't think I thought they'd be this bad. Boy, I wish we were talking about President McCain right now.

I rarely have political debates with my friends, unless we share the same values and ideals and support the same candidate. So there's been plenty of discussion about John Kerry and bashing of Bush, but less honest debate and heated exchanges between myself and any strong Republican supporters. I like it that way. I can have a lot in common with my friends, but if our political views lie on opposite sides of the spectrum, that's fine. Why risk a rift in the friendship over a heated discussion about taxes? We all have our reasons for our positions, and I can respect those that differ from mine even if I can't understand them.

I write this not so much to impose my beliefs on anyone in these final days until Nov. 2, but to explain myself and why I will vote for John Kerry and why I hope he wins. Indeed, I put it right out there at the top so that anyone not interested in reading another pro-Kerry column can go back one day and look at creative jack o' lanterns. I do this because, frankly, I really am having a hard time understanding why the President has such strong support, why working-class states like Ohio and Pennsylvania are so undecided and why people are drawn to what has clearly been a campaign of fear and negativism, particularly on the Republican side. My general feeling has been one of hope and optimism from John Kerry, and one of bullying and scare tactics from George Bush. I invite anyone to explain to me what it is about George Bush that says he deserves four more years. I honestly don't get it. He's already governed like a second-term president, forcing through the policies and bills that he fears would never come to pass if he isn't living in Washington come next Groundhog Day.

The following will certainly read like a vote for Anyone But Bush, and it is. I knew two years ago -- I sensed it four years ago -- that Nov. 2, 2004, would be a big day, hopefully a day to change things again. I was watching the primaries closely, not so much to pull for one candidate or another to win, but to learn all I could about each one so that I would know whether or not I could honestly, truly support the nominee. While I've structured this as the reasons I don't want to see four more years of the same crap, I also feel that Kerry embodies much of what these critiques imply that I am looking for in a leader. If I truly didn't like John Kerry, I don't know what I would do. With the electoral college, it doesn't make sense to vote for anyone but the two candidates from the Democratic and Republican parties. Even a Bush supporter who lives in Massachusetts doesn't have a direct say in the outcome of this election. It may be that this election really does move us closer to a change in the way we choose our president, as if 2000 wasn't enough of a wake-up call.

TAXES
Everyone just assumes it's a bad word, but another way to look at it is as a small price to pay for our freedom. Maybe because I don't have much money, but I can't see why so many object to the fact that those who make more should pay more, by percentage. Bush can claim all he wants that most of the tax cuts went to the middle class, but when some of the cuts were for the estate tax (which Republicans love to call the death tax, making it sound more unjust) and dividend taxes on stock holdings, it's clear those cuts affect the wealthiest Americans more than the middle and lower classes. First, the estate tax only comes into play above a certain monetary level of inheritance; second, who besides the CEOs and other large shareholders have enough stock to be affected by the dividend taxes? Furthermore, every political scholar and adviser knows that you can't cut taxes, fight a war and expect to have anything close to a balanced budget or a strong economy. Funny how we haven't had either of the latter since the last days of Clinton.

IRAQ AND SADDAM
It's sad that shortly after we attacked Iraq that so many Americans believed there was a strong, direct connection between Saddam Hussein and the attacks of September 11, when the only evidence of it was because George Bush and Dick Cheney claimed it was so. I know Saddam was bad, I know he was a threat, but I said from Day 1 of the war that Bush did not come close to convincing me that he was enough of an immediate threat that he had to be taken care of when the president chose to attack. I hope Kerry doesn't lose this election because he waited until the first debate to start calling Bush out on his decision to direct forces, funds and attention from the hunt for Osama bin Laden to send troops and money into Iraq. Clearly Iraq is in worse shape now because of the mess we've made, and it will take longer to fix than it would have had it been planned out more thoroughly. Bush's half-assed assertion that the reason things are such a mess because we won too easily is a cop-out. You're telling me that with the greatest military in the world, with all that we can do with computers and technology, with all that we knew about Saddam Hussein and his army, that we couldn't foresee a cake walk in terms of chasing the dictator from his capital and overrunning his sorry excuse for an army? I'm also not convinced that the idea of attacking Iraq didn't start shortly after Bush took office in January 2001. I've read somewhere (it very well might be in the editorial from The New Yorker that's linked below) that an Iraq attack was mentioned in the White House on September 12, 2001.

ARROGANCE
In the second debate, the last woman to ask a question of the president said something along the lines of, "We all make mistakes. Can you name three instances in which you made a choice you regret and why?" A simple question, and a good one. It's similar to a classic interview question: What are your weaknesses? Bush didn't answer it. He stammered something about a few "appointments" and then refused to specifically name them because he "didn't want to hurt their feelings." Bollocks. I really believe that, in his mind, he hasn't made a mistake yet in his presidency. That's idiotic. There's a pointed arrogance, stubbornness and smugness to Bush, Cheney, Rumsfeld and Ashcroft that is a dangerous characteristic to have with all that power to boot. Everyone makes mistakes. Bush refuses to learn from any of his.

A CAMPAIGN OF FEAR
I'm offended every time Bush or Cheney stands up in front of a hand-picked crowd (contractually obligated to cheer in support) and implies that any vote other than for Bush/Cheney will lead to more terrorist attacks. The real truth is that we will be subject to further attacks no matter what. The difference today as opposed to four years ago is that now we're looking for it and trying to prevent it. That won't change. And don't even begin to tell me that when I express my opinion, as is my right, that I'm un-patriotic or un-American if my beliefs happen to go against those of the Bush/Cheney clan. Furthermore, all the negative advertising -- the Swift Boat Veterans "For Truth" and all -- is insulting. What does it say when one candidate has to resort to tearing down his opponent's record instead of trumpeting his own strengths and virtues? The same thing goes for Republican attempts to get Ralph Nader on the ballot in as many states as possible. And along those lines ...

DISENFRANCHISEMENT
It used to be that this word came up in history classes when talking about the history of blacks in America. Now we're hearing it almost daily, particularly in Florida. We should be encouraging people to vote, to express their opinions, to participate in our democracy. We shouldn't be throwing out voter registrations because of the stock of paper on which they were submitted (and that's not the only instance; I read somewhere that the registrations were simply thrown out).

KARL ROVE
The man's dirty. He's the the stereotypical shady politician. Read John Dean's CNN column (link below) to see how ugly this could get if it's another close election.

FLORIDA
I think the first time I really knew I couldn't trust George Bush was watching the election coverage on November 7/8, 2000. It was still early, when most outlets were projecting a win for Al Gore, and the networks started showing a clip of George Bush in the Texas governor's mansion speaking with reporters. With that smirk on his face we've come to know so well, he basically said, "Don't count out Florida yet." It was as if he knew something the rest of us didn't, and it sure looks now like that was the case.

"NATION BUILDING" AND "A UNITER, NOT A DIVIDER"
In his 2000 campaign, Bush pledged he did not believe American should be in the business of "nation building." He also promised that he would not be a polarizing president. This country has never been more divided between Republicans and Democrats, liberals and conservatives, rich and poor. It's not good.

THE DEFICIT
We were in great shape in 2000 with a budget surplus in the trillions, $5 trillion in fact. We're headed for a $2.3 trillion deficit within 10 years, a $7 trillion turnaround. A lot could have been done with that money -- even tax cuts! But it's been pissed away. I'm a big proponent of helping the environment, but I'm setting those wishes aside for the time being because the way things are going, I won't have any extra money to take vacations to see places like Yellowstone or Alaska. We're in a ginormous hole financially, and my generation will still be paying for it long after today's veteran policitians have retired to their ranches.

JOBS
George Bush is the first president since Herbert Hoover to preside over a loss of jobs during his term. Herbert Hoover!! There was something called The Depression back then.

APPOINTMENTS
This goes along with the arrogance, not to mention the mistatements and lies. Bush filled his entire staff with "yes men." He brags about not listening to outside opinion. He doesn't seek out dissenting views, even as a means of strengthening his own argument for his beliefs. That's just irresponsible. Maybe if he'd listen to someone who doubted one of his statements once in a while, he wouldn't have been so surprised at the "success" in Iraq. As far as his appointments, his judicial ones have been laughable. Yet he tries to claim that the Democrats in Congress are holding them all up. Truth is, Bush has had more judges -- conservative ideologues, as The New Yorker put it -- appointed to federal courts than the averages for Clinton, Reagan and the first Bush. And Republicans blocked six times more of Clinton's appointments than Democrats have of Bush's.

MARRIAGE AND ABORTION
My beliefs on these issues as they pertain to the goverment -- or the Constitution -- are simple: I do not believe that laws should be made that dictate what a person can do with his or her own body. I may not like abortion, I may not think it's right, but who am I to say that a 14-year-old who was gang-raped by the football team cannot terminate her pregnancy? As for gay marriage, it would be a shame to make an amendment to the Constitution that actually takes away someone's rights.

EDUCATION
Children are still being left behind, particularly because there isn't enough money given to the program that the president himself championed. It's irresponsible. On top of that, if there's one group to which we should do all we can, it's the children. Focusing on education -- improving schools, paying teachers, helping children learn -- can help solve myriad problems. More structure and better education can lead to better opportunities and help steer kids from crime, death, pregnancy and so much more.

HOMELAND SECURITY
Clearly, I want to feel safe at home. For the most part, I do. I don't, however, feel safer than I did four years ago. I might if Iraq weren't going off like the opening of a Jerry Bruckheimer film. I certainly would if Osama bin Laden weren't tucked away in a cave somewhere. But here I am, in northern New Jersey. I pass the George Washington Bridge every day going to work. I traverse the Hudson River via the Lincoln Tunnel several times a month. I cruise down the New Jersey Turnpike past the ports in Elizabeth and the oil refineries just yards from the roads. We're still vulnerable, and part of the reason is that Congress can't even get funding for homeland security right. I could feel safer if more money were coming to New Jersey and New York, because the threat is clearly greater here. Or I could move to Wyoming or Alaska, where they have so much homeland security money that they're having trouble spending it. The funds aren't distributed according to perceived need, but equally. Wyoming gets something like 30 times more money per person than New York does. Times square gets nearly as many people -- about half a million -- on New Year's Eve as Wyoming has residents.

In hindsight, I wish I'd written more of an outline, that I'd crafted this piece over the course of months rather than days. I've read so much from countless sources that have helped form my opinion and I can't possibly keep track of it all. Below are a few links which say much of what I have attempted to here in much clearer and succinct ways. Thanks for getting to this point. Remember to vote. Fluffier entries coming again soon.

"The Unfeeling President," by E.L. Doctorow

Garrison Keillor, "We're Not In Lake Wobegon Anymore"

The New Yorker's editorial endorsing John Kerry

John Dean's scary speculation for the days after Nov. 2

The New York Times' collection of editorials on the "real issues" of the campaign

The New York Times' collection of editorials on the "flaws in the mechanics of our democracy"

Previous page: Jack o' Homestars
Next page: I am a patriot

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?