THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

Friday, Jan. 18, 2002 - 7:44 p.m.

Always making me feel good

I sat down to work and felt sick. Not anything in particular, but an overall malaise that had me wishing I could've called out sick today. But Casey made it better, without even being here. She asked if I was coming over after work, and when I said I would, that, apparently, helped. Because now, I have something to look forward to. Maybe it was just the thought of going home to an empty apartment just to go to bed alone that had me depressed.

I did some food shopping today, and finally signed up for the Pathmark Advantage Club. And it made me feel better to shop, knowing that I'd be saving money (which turned out to be $2.77) when I bought two 12-packs of Coca-Cola drinks (one Coke, one Sprite) for $5, or two (not just one, but two) big jars of Ragu or Prego or one of those spaghetti sauces. Yes! Now I can make more baked pasta dishes and more English muffin pizzas.

I think tonight when I go to Casey's, I'll sit down and turn on the Nintendo, just to see what she does, since she thinks I only play it when she's otherwise occupied. Unless she turns me on first.

I also went to Target and bought a new pair of cheap nylon pants. My old cheap pair finally ripped too much to justify wearing them, since one leg did not go beyond my knee. So I was forced to wear my older, but still nice pair of Notre Dame pants, and last week when I fell (actually, someone fell on top of me) during hockey, a small hole appeared in them. Now I need to mend them, but I'm sure I won't find the exact shade of blue, and that will only last so long, anyway, because I'm sure after a few washes it will start coming out again. So it's only a matter of time. The worst part, though, is that they were only $13, and if I'd known they'd be that cheap, I would've bought them sooner. Damn me.

It's supposed to snow tomorrow. Only about 3-6 inches, but they're saying the heaviest downfall will be about two inches an hour, which is something. So our deadlines were moved up an hour, and I now have to be at work by 4 p.m. tomorrow, which will likely prevent me from going into the city for wings, which I'd begun to REALLY look forward to, despite my need to leave early to get here. But the good news is that we'll be done earlier, too, and so long as the Parkway and Turnpike are in driveable shape, I should make it home tomorrow night before midnight. Those main roads are usually in good shape, so long as the snowfall isn't Storm of the Century-caliber, and it's not expected to be. I won't be able to drive 70, but I should still make good time. Let's hope.

Hmmm ... but I don't have a shovel. Eep.

Previous page: Ed's back
Next page: Six months

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?