THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

2000-12-30 - 20:05:08

It snowed

It snowed today.

A lot.

If you've watched the Weather Channel at all today, you've seen it. We have a foot here.

I went out twice today to shovel -- the first time getting most of the 10 inches to that point cleared off the back patio, the front sidewalk, the path up to the front door, and the driveway. Then I went out later to do it all over again (there was a fresh layer of 4-5 inches) and clear off the cars.

To do that, I had to run my arm over the hood, roof, trunk and just sweep it away. I was laying myself out over the cars to push the stuff off. Then I had to shovel the driveway around them again, because the drifts were knee-high in some places; up to hood level in others.

I managed to clear two tracks down the driveway (a slight hill covered with stones) and when I backed out to come to work -- yes, I was one of a dozen people on the road -- I could hear the bottom of my car scraping along the middle section that I hadn't cleared.

It's annoying that I have to be here, to put out a paper when nobody should have to come out in these conditions. I didn't have a chance to enjoy the snow. I was up late, watching High Fidelity, which I loved and may elaborate upon at another time. Then I got up early, knowing I had to pack for Phoenix and shovel and come to work early.

So that's all done, and I'm here, and we've got only two hours left until deadline, which is an hour earlier tonight because of the weather.

I might make it out of here and get a second wind and head out to the pre-New Year's party at my favorite bar with a couple of friends, then get an hour or so of sleep before getting up at 4:30 to get a ride to Newark Airport, where I hope to be able to get on my flight to Arizona.

And with that, I hope that my next entry is full of fun and adventure from three days in Phoenix and a raucus New Year celebration.

Happy New Year.

Previous page: The approaching storm
Next page: Looking back on the year

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?