THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

Wednesday, Dec. 12, 2001 - 9:25 p.m.

I'm smarter than Casey

So, enough of those lame tests to tell you which "Friend" you are or who your "Celebrity Match" is.

This is the real deal. Emode's IQ Test tells me my IQ is 131 (smarter than Casey). This other one tells me it's 148. And this site says that, according to my SAT score of 1470, my IQ is somewhere between 151-154. So I guess in some parts of cyberspace, I'm smarter than in others. But I don't know for sure if my SAT score was 1470, and I don't think I ever took an official IQ test, so who knows if any of the numbers are really accurate. Some people don't need to know where they rank in the world.

But if it's the Emode world, I'm smarter than Casey! Nya-nya-n-nya-nya!

������

So Bryan confirmed my suspicions and sent me an e-mail in which he was all pissy about my skipping out on some weekend events in the City. I explained my own displeasure with myself and how it took me by surprise. I also reminded him how unappealing walking around New York on a holiday Saturday sounded. He mentioned how rarely he makes it down to New York (from Boston - hello, four hours at most) and it would've been nice to hang out more. And I agree. I didn't bring up how I mentioned the annual holiday cookie bake mom had with her college friends Saturday, to which we all would've been more than welcome. Bryan and Mia have all met The Gang, and it would've meant free food and drinks and fun and - most important - time together. But he nixed that idea two weeks before coming.

So, although I felt bad about it over the weekend, I'm over it now. I'm glad he said something, confirming my suspiscions (and why, all of a sudden, can I not spell that word?), but now I actually feel better about it. I mean, I'm sorry it happened, but we're all allowed to be out of it from time to time. It's just unfortunate that it happened that weekend. Granted, my job's kept me from spending time with friends, but I think I do a decent job of staying in touch, considering the circumstances. And I am looking for better employment, so things will get better.

In fact, now, I'm a bit annoyed. It's the first time it happened - that I've not been as anxious and active as Bryan and Mia have - and he gets upset? What about that time I drove up after work on a Saturday, only to get to Mia's apartment at 1 a.m., and they're in for the night, so we sit around her apartment for an hour, then go to bed. The next morning, we have brunch, and I leave for work. How about the several suggestions I've made to drive up for dinner on a Monday or Tuesday night? Sure, it's a weeknight, but I'm essentially driving four hours for DINNER.

Another point of defense I made to Bryan was my reluctance to spend money now that I've got a new apartment and many more expenses. I'm trying to keep my spending in check until I'm confident I can budget myself. I ran into some trouble senior year in college, pretty much going broke during the final month and only having money to drive across country that summer after my graduation party. Then I got a job, and that's the only reason I have any savings or a checking account today. You'd think a guy who's been through a lawsuit, had to pay lawyer's fees, just bought a condo and is less than a year into his new XTerra would understand such things, especially when he's making $10,000 more than I am (which he may not know, but I know I've indicated how poorly this job pays).

Ah, there. Now I feel better.

������

Chris here at work just went to the mall and brought back Auntie Anne's pretzels, the best there is. And that deserves a big Homer Simpson "Mmmmmm ..."

������

Other things I haven't mentioned and usually would note:

� Notre Dame has a new coach. Woo!

� He kept the defensive coordinator (who may not be the defensive coordinator), which can be considered one of the high points of the season, when you see that they only gave up 27 points to Nebraska in Lincoln AND were 5-0 when scoring 20 points but 0-6 when not reaching that mark.

� The Mets got Roberto Alomar! WOO-HOO! I'm actually excited again, just when they'd pushed me into an apathetic funk in which I'd still get tickets for Opening Day and go for a third straight year but then wouldn't care to see any other games this year. But I don't think that will be the case. I have a feeling. This is the year.

Down with the Braves.

������

I have plenty to say concerning life in Edgewater and all the TV I watch during the day and the "special TV offers" offered on the Game Show Network during the day, but that's for another entry.

Off to cut down on my cell phone plan because who really uses 2000 nights and weekends and 600 anytime minutes in a month if not on the phone 20 hours a day for business? Surely not me. And the money I save will pay for my half of the high-speed DSL connection Lori and I are getting which will allow me to update more often and from the comfort of my own home, where I can be more articulate and witty and, frankly, flat-out better.

Previous page: Maybe I put my hopes too high this time
Next page: What are the chances he's really there?

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?