THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

Thursday, Sept. 11, 2003 - 7:40 p.m.

So, why do you think you'd be good for this job?

In a nutshell:

A little over a year ago, I was miserably working nights and weekends on the sports desk of a newspaper and making $XX,XXX.

In less than a year, I got a new job paying $XX,XXX + $2,000 (and I was stupid/honest and didn't lie about my previous salary. It was my first job switch; I choked). Within a few weeks, I was essentially promoted to more responsibilities but no raise. The new title to match those responsibilities came in January and when I tried to get my salary to match the title and the responsibilities, I was told that the company prefers to do all its raises at the end of the calendar year. I missed out on that one.

Now, in a whirlwind few weeks, I've earned another promotion and a substantial title change that, as of Monday, comes with a real raise of another several thousand, and today I was the interviewER rather than the interviewEE.

I say "real raise" because I was given a bump up to near where I should be for my title and responsibilities and not just the "percentage raise" that so many companies are fond of at the yearly anniversaries of its employees' hiring dates. I was also told that we'd be able to discuss another potential raise at the end of the year.

Being on the other end of the interview process is weird. Really weird. I'm glad I'm not the one who has to make the final decision -- and deal with possible calls and/or e-mails from those who don't get the job and are following up with it. But I still have to help make a difficult decision. There were two really good candidates and three quite adequate ones, all of whom could use the help and experience this job would give them to get their careers going. All are either living at home or working retail or both, and seeing as how it took me a year to get here and I cursed so many publications and contacts who never answered my applications, I'd love to be able help somebody make the transition and get their magazine career on track.

I will do it someday.

Ooh -- now it's time to go home. Sorry, not going to sit here and write for you anymore.

Maybe later, though.

Previous page: Time to sing along
Next page: Shocking news

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?