THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

Friday, Nov. 8, 2002 - 1:33 p.m.

I would've posted 90 minutes ago, but Andrew was hogging the server

My mom called at 7:50 this morning just to tell me that she and Dad had passed five unmarked police cars in a short stretch of the NJ Turnpike on their way to Baltimore. "So don't drive fast," she said. Thanks, Ma. Actually, ever since I got my speeding ticket five years ago this December, I've watched myself. I don't need the penalty and insurance headaches that come with it. I just make sure I stay with the flow and let the 90 mph crazies pass me. Not that I don't hit 90 once in a while ...


I think Casey and I are approaching the record for Target purchases and returns in a 30-day span. It seems like every time we buy something, we find out one thing isn't the right size or we don't really need it; and every time we go back to return something, there's still something else we forgot to pick up. Luckily, while getting one last set of blinds and eight D batteries for the boom box for tomorrow's tailgating, I successfully fought off the Powerpuff Girls and did not by their movie on DVD for Casey. DoesthatmakemeMojoJojo? IthinkitdoesforIamMMMMMooojoJojo! AndIwillsoonRULEallofTownsvilleonceIdoawaywiththosePOWERPUFFGIRLS!


One night when the staffers of the other magazines in this section of the office leave, I just want to go around to all the TVs within listening range (and there are three) and turn them all to CNN or ESPN or some channel OTHER than MTV, and then hide the remotes. The other day, two of them had MTV on, so it was coming out in stereo. I don't have a problem with leaving it on all day, but when A Moment Like This has become ingrained in my brain from overplay, I may just have to resort to drastic measures. Occassionally, they'll sprinkle in a little "Dirrty," and I'm sure "Jenny From The Block" will soon be just as annoying. The network is run by impressionable teens who can't think for themselves, after all, so it is, naturally, oh-so-predictable. (No ill will meant toward anyone who might happen to work there. Or may one day hire me.)


CBS is kicking Kim Delaney off of CSI: Miami after just 10 episodes. They really didn't need her. As the story says, she seemed to just stand around in some episodes.


Jeff Probst is very well informed when he asks questions of the contestants on Survivor before challenges or tribal council. I imagine he spends his off-camera time reviewing footage or notes of the staff that sticks with the contestants so he knows what's been happening on the island. But last night I pictured him hiding in the trees, with the monkey that keeps stealing their food, watching everything happen below. That'd be pretty funny.


George Clooney was once on a CBS medial sitcom called E/R in the mid-80s. I find that interesting. And I still need to see O Brother Where Art Thou?


It's 1:30 and I only have two and a half more hours left in my day. Woo!

Previous page: Terrible twos
Next page: It's more than football

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?