THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

Tuesday, Oct. 16, 2001 - 1:00 a.m.

Fuck the Yankees

I'm tired of the Yankees. Fuck 'em.

I'm tired of their winning, their whining, their celebrating. I'm tired of their fans, those who wouldn't make a trip to the Bronx before 1996, but now � now, after a few world championships � decide to come out to the tune of 3 million fans a year. The Yankees had never, in their entire history, drawn 3 million fans in a season before 1998, when they won a league-record 114 games. Front runners.

I want the Yankees to go away. I'm tired of their act. I'm tired of Yankee fans thinking it's their birthright to have a world championship every year. I'm tired of them (the fans still) thinking they own the city and its sports heritage. I'm tired of Rudy Guiliani in his Yankee cap on TV every other inning, and running onto the field to celebrate the victory as if he were one of the players. I was tired of Rudy Guiliani insulting New Jersey every chance he got ("If my parents had known Ellis Island was in New Jersey, they would have stayed in Italy.") I was happy to see Rudy handle the crisis so well, and do his job so admirably. But now, to see him in his Yankees cap at the ballpark, I'm tired of him again. Bring back David Dinkins - he was a Mets fan.

I don't feel bad about these thoughts, as some might think. No, I do not think that New York deserves another Yankees championship because of the terrorist attacks. I don't think the two should be brought together in that way. Yes, it's nice to have sports to take our minds off what happened a month ago, it's nice to have a baseball game to watch to remember what it was like before we lived so cautiously. But they don't have to win to make it better. Win or lose, that game takes our minds off the world we now live in. Winning won't bring back anybody; winning won't clean up anything; winning won't rebuild anything. But America would still be watching the playoffs and picking teams they want to see win and lose without the Yankees in the picture.

But really, I'm just tired of the Yankees. They're the bratty kid that has to win every time, and they're taking all the fun out of the game.

Let's go Mariners!

Previous page: Anthrax in America
Next page: A big win for my Bucs

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?