THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

Monday, Apr. 28, 2003 - 2:45 p.m.

Fresh air

Warm, sunny days � why would anyone drive with all the windows closed? It's beyond me.

Weather reports on the radio were calling for highs up to 80 today, and as I drove past the middle school, I thought of all the youths trapped inside after a week off for Easter/spring break with the not-so-great weather, and now it's beautiful out and they're back inside. It always happens.

But it also makes school (and now in my life, work) more tolerable, I think. Sure, you don't want to be inside on such nice days, but the sunshine and warmer weather is just so uplifting. There's something to look forward to during lunch breaks and quitting time. The weekends have so much more possibility with out-of-doors activities from which to choose.

I also had the most random thought this weekend. Driving to the mall, Casey behind the wheel, radio on, I thought: "Dammit, we have to sit through another week of American Idol with Josh Gracin." The guy's horrible and hasn't changed since week three (or whenever it was) when he went country and never turned back. Say what you will about Carmen or the others, but I think they have more potential then he does. The guy can twang with the best of them, and he'll kick ass at karaoke contests, but as an "American idol"? Better chance fighting for our freedom in the Marines, I think.

As for where this random thought came, here's the trail: "Ants Marching" was on the radio, and when the fast-talking part came in ("Candyman tempting the thought ..." etc.), I found I still know all the words. Then I thought of other songs with similar bridges, like "Hook" by Blues Traveler ("Suck it in suckitinsuckitin ... "). Next, my mind wandered to Billy Joel's "We Didn't Start The Fire" and, finally, to Garth Brooks' "Ain't Going Down Til The Sun Comes Up," which Josh covered during the country-rock show that inexplicably (and unforgivably, I say) did not include The Eagles. How do you do country-rock and not include one of the pioneers of the genre?

And I'm going to make a mix CD entitled "Casey Will Hate This" and put on it all the songs and artists I like but she can't stand, so I don't listen to them as much at home or when we're in my car together.

Previous page: Damn this traffic jam
Next page: Indulgences, links and parodies

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?