THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

Monday, Sept. 23, 2002 - 1:26 p.m.

The Fight Is Back

It's back. That would be The Fight. The Fight Is Back.

It's back to where it used to be, to where it once was. There's a confidence, a feeling of success and an air of determination there that was missing for several years � to the point where I don't remember when I last felt it. Probably 1993.

That was the last time Notre Dame football seemed so successful, so dominant, so unable to lose. Saturday's 21-17 victory over Michigan State sums up the last nine years (1993 was the last time the Irish were 4-0) thusly: The Spartans had won the last five against the Irish (who still had won 10 of the last 16), and had taken the last three on fourth-quarter touchdowns, two of which were miraculous, how-could-that-have-happened jaw-droppers that just took the life out of Domers everywhere. It nearly happened again Saturday when Charles Rogers, one of the best (if not The Best) receivers in the country, pulled in two fourth-quarter TD catches, the last of which was an acrobatic leaping grab in which he barely � by the width of a blade of grass � got his foot down in the end zone before falling out of bounds, giving Michigan State a 17-14 lead. That was with 1:45 remaining in the fourth quarter. In the past, that would've done us in, particularly without our starting quarterback, who was sidelined Saturday in the third quarter.

But on Saturday, the Luck returned.

I don't remember how it developed because I was rocking on my bar stool, taping my foot on the rail, banging my knee rhythmically into the bar. I was twirling my class ring on my finger and repeating to myself over and over, "21-17, 21-17 ..." hoping that the final score would be just that. I must've been looking down at my hand, or the floor, or something when I heard a roar go up in the bar. I looked up at the screen and saw Arnaz Battle, Notre Dame's fleet-footed quarterback-turned-receiver, running down the sideline. I saw only his back, the No. 3, as so many Michigan State players saw. Battle had caught a short pass from ND backup QB Pat Dillingham and eluded one tackler and sprinted 60 yards down the sideline for the winning score. I missed any celebration by the Irish because dozens of arms went up in the bar, obstructing my view of the main TV. But to hear those cheers, to be able to watch the game and celebrate in kind with fellow alumni was worth the $53 I paid for beer and pub grub. I am convinced watching the big game with fellow fans in a public yet intimate setting such as this is the next best thing to being there.

In the past, that would not have happened to Notre Dame. In the past, Battle would've been tackled, or dropped the ball. He would've been hit, gained a few more yards, and fumbled. Dillingham would've been intercepted or sacked. Or Michigan State would've made another drive down the field and scored again. As it was Saturday, the Spartans did drive and quarterback Jeff Smoker lofted a last-gasp bomb 40 yards to the 3-yard line, where Charles Rogers waited and leapt ... but there were two Irish defenders there who went up as well, and Gerome Sapp came down with it as the clock struck 0:00.

Notre Dame 21, Michigan State 17.

The bar erupted in one final cheer and then began to empty rather quickly. I left there hoarse and sweaty, in part because I was sitting in a corner of the bar that seemed to have heat lamps above it for the dart board. But it was well worth it.

And here we are, Monday morning, 4-0, No. 10 in the country, and two weeks to go until the next game. These bye weeks are always endless when you're playing well.

Previous page: White (Sox) trash
Next page: Raise a glass for O. Henry

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?