THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

2001-05-28 - 11:02 p.m.

Eh

So it turns out I'm just like every other guy. At least in one way:

I don't understand women.

At least not this one woman. Since I've been covering this baseball team, one of the cute young women who works there has been quite friendly. I didn't think much of it at first, but as it went on, it seemed more like she was flirting with me. Her smiles and hellos and jokes and teasing. Yeah, I realize this is all normal person-to-person behavior and had it been between two men or two women, I wouldn't see it as flirting. But there was a sense that it was more than just friendly banter.

As I said, I didn't think much of it at first. I generally don't. I take things slow � probably too slow � so it takes me a little while to start thinking along the lines of, "Hey, maybe there's something there." Besides, I probably shouldn't really date someone who works for the team I'm supposed to cover impartially.

I'd kinda thought that recently, but with the 12-game road trip the team just went on, I hadn't seen her in two weeks.

You know, I'm just not in the mood for a long, detailed account of all this. Here's the deal: She shows up at a Memorial Day barbecue today with a date. And I gathered from my gathering skills that they've known each other for a while. And they left early, before most of the rest of us, which you don't really do on a "Hey, wanna go to a barbecue tonight" for-the-heck-of-it kind of date.

So why was she so flirty with me? I understand women flirt just to flirt, but don't they realize how stupid we are and we take even the smallest flirt to mean some level of interest?

I mean, why would she send me (what I thought were) signals of interest if there were no interest?

I don't get women.


My shameful � because I disguised it as a request for movie suggestions � request for movie suggestions resulted in an increase in guestbook entries. Good suggestions, too, because I liked "Entrapment," loved "Vertigo" and "Unforgiven" and now I'm intrigued to see "Midnight Lace" because of the varying interpretations two people gave on it. We'll have to see which way I see it.


Eh, I'm just that tonight � Eh.

Previous page: Playing the ponies
Next page: I'm a loser, baby

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?