THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

Wednesday, Feb. 5, 2003 - 10:00 a.m.

A dream back in time

In a dream last night, I was standing in Lower Manhattan, on the site of the World Trade Center, before Sept. 11, 2001. Yet I was there with the knowledge of that day, and it was as if the entire area had been reconstructed as it once was, but in tribute and as a memorial. The towers � which, in my dream, at times seemed much, much smaller than they originally stood � cast the familiar shadow across the plaza below. As part of the design, two planes � one American Airlines, one United � flew low over the area to honor those who lost their lives. It was a bright, brilliant sunny day with the warmth of spring.

*****

I'm not sure if the dream came out of reading about Columbia in Newsweek last night, or if it was sparked from reading about the finalists for the World Trade Center site. Interesting, to say the least.

I've been so tired waking up in the morning of late, despite sleeping through the night for seven or eight hours consistently now. Either I'm oversleeping or it's the drag of winter holding me back. We'll see if it's the latter in 10 days when I wake up in Orlando � or, more precisely, Titusville. But there I'll probably have horrific nightmares about bad Fox sitcoms starring mediocre comics you've never heard of and shouldn't last half a season, let alone be renewed for a second. I still shudder thinking about promos for Titus.

And just when we thought our weekends might slow down and open up after the Super Bowl ... we were in the City last weekend, this weekend we're going to PA for a new license for Casey, then to my parents ... Florida, Florida ... Casey's birthday weekend ... D.C. for N.D./GT ... St. Pat's weekend ... Casey's in Scotland ... it's the end of March. Wow. But I'm not complaining, too much. This weekend will be rather relaxing, as will the bulk of the Florida trip. And I'm not going to Scotland, so...

I'm still weary. Maybe I'll be more lucid later.

*****

Oh! I was amused at this definition of "goth" as sent to me from A Word A Day:

Goth (goth) noun
A rude or uncivilized person.

Heh. Puts a different meaning on those high school sheep, now doesn't it?

Previous page: Quick and painless
Next page: Step out of the car please, sir

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?