THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

2001-06-02 - 11:11 a.m.

Dream 06/02/01

This is entry No. 238
To go until the Dano 250th Entry Celebration: 11

Had a dream I was playing football in high school adn that I needed to write it down, but I couldn't find my dream notebook, so I was coming up with the description in my head while looking for the notebook (this is all part of the dream).

So now the football dream before the one that followed � I'm in high school, a member of the football team (something I never really was) and we've made the state playoffs � just barely, as the last team, because we're no good. We're matched up against a much better team and bound to lose big. Jamel Harris #1 and Joel Gray #7 are on the team, two recent stars, the flanker and the quarterback. I play split end. Harris scores first and we get some confidence. Then later, still 7-0, we have the ball on fourth down near the end zone, Gray scrambles to his right and I shadow him in the end zone � he sees me and fakes a throw because there's a defender between us. The defender bites on th fake and dives to knock it down so Joel underhands a spiral to me. It's a little off the mark, so I have to dive, reaching out and catching the ball while fully extended above the ground, falling into the end zone for the score and wild celebration because we know we'll win now.

Onto Dream 2, where I'm riding my bike down in Belmar and decide to go see the Stanley Cup (which is on display there today). It's another one of those dreams where I really need to get somewhere but it takes forever � I keep getting lost or hung up. I pass a school, knowing I'm far from where I want to be. I then decide to go past Dave's house and on the way, the sidewalk goes right into someone's backyard, a small little yard between two houses. The owners are there and used to this, and the neighbors are out on their deck and Rosie O'Donnell is there. Back out on the street it comes to a triangular corner, with a yard taking up the triangle. I cut across it and begin talking with the people who live there, and it's the family having the little party with Rosie, so we talk.

But instead I'm later at a betting parlor for Monmouth Park and I say to Marion � who's now there all of a sudden � if I had a program, I'd place a bet. I'm about to place a blind 2-4 exacta on the second race when Marion realizes we do have a program, and the second race has only two horses � one named Dan Can Do. But Marion and I enjoy our time talking and there's a basketball game on with Princeton beating Maryland, and my parents are there so I tell them the score. A window has now come down around the bar because it's about time for the first race and they're not taking any more bets on it.

Previous page: Don't miss the 250th Entry Celebration
Next page: Celebration preparation

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?