THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

Wednesday, Jan. 8, 2003 - 12:15 p.m.

Don't be cruel

It's Elvis's birthday, so I'm listening to 30 #1 Hits. Thirty-one (they added the "Little Less Conversation" remix) tracks for $12. That's a good deal, even if the longest one is 4:34 ("Suspicious Minds").

***

I'm gradually trying to eat better. I've never had good eating habits. As a child, I was very picky and wouldn't eat anything. There was a time I can remember balking even at ice cream and pizza. The ice cream was at a real young age, so maybe I made it up or it was a dream or something. But I distinctly remember first really liking pizza in sixth grade. I had no problem with the dough and the cheese; it was the tomato sauce that worried me, Lord knows why. But I couldn't stand it; I ate my pasta with nothing but butter regularly until I went to college.

College is really when I started to expand my cullinary horizons ��in the dining hall, of all places. But it was there I gradually tried other dishes, and then I'd order more "exotic" things at restaurants and eat more unfamiliar foods when visiting my new friends at their parents' houses.

Anyway, I had a yogurt this morning, which was all fine and good, but the problem is that I'm still sitting here beneath the breeze. They've managed to redirect the blast of arctic air away from our desks, but it's still blowing with force, and my fingers are cold. Eating cold yogurt didn't help.

I also try to drink more water, so I bought a 1.5-liter bottle of Poland Spring, and now I refill it from the Brita every morning since the water here is crap. It's nice, too, because then I have to go to the bathroom roughly every hour, and that gets me up and walking around and I can warm up a bit. Except for after 7 p.m., when apparently the hot water in the building is turned off and when you wash your hands in the bathroom, you'd better make it quick, because that water's ice.

It also occured to me recently that I have never, not once, seen one coworker in the bathroom. At all. In four months I've been here (next Sunday). That just seems weird, since I've seen just about every other guy from the office in there more than once, not to mention others from other companies on this floor whom I only see in there. He must have great bladder control.

***

I don't understand the students at Kinetix's college. I've never heard of so many who whine to mommy and daddy to fix things for them. When I was in school and we had a problem such as an ant infestation (well, we didn't, but if we did), I would've first gone to my RA, then to the hall rector (Catholic college). I never had to go any further than that. And Jesus, I wouldn't let something like hordes of ants go on longer than the time it took me to notify someone once I discovered their little ant parade.

***

There are so many reasons I can't stand computers. They're so finicky. They're the cats of the technological world. In redesigning my journal here, I wanted a font that resembled that of a typewriter, for obvious reasons. So when I was working on Casey's Mac laptop last night, I went with Courier New, Verdana, New York, Helvetica and sans-serif, in that order, and Courier New came up fine on her screen. But here at work, on a new iMac with Mac OS 9.2, it's not showing up. This from the computer that, every time I freeze and have to restart (average: about four times a week, if not once a day), needs a full minute at some point during the restart to go through the entire fonts database at a pretty decent clip. Why Courier New isn't showing up is way beyond me.

Bollocks.

Previous page: Time to change
Next page: Fear and loathing in Aspen

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?