THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

Thursday, Feb. 19, 2004 - 8:32 a.m.

The second week of that first trip

Tuesday, July 10
What I wrote:
Returned to LA, had lunch with Karen and Jeff at Karen�s � went to Ray�s to swim and watch All-Star Game � Karen works for American Airlines, checking in baggage, and has met Bon Jovi, Donny Osmond, and some other celebrities

What I remember: The major league baseball all-star game that year was held in Wrigley Field, not yet two years after the Cubs played their first night game. The National League�s starting picture was the Cincinnati Reds� Jack Armstrong, who grew up in Neptune, N.J., not far from Little Silver. As for Karen�s (now former) job, I don�t know why I remembered Donny Osmond�s name. I don�t think I even knew who he was or why he would be worth noting in the same breath as Bon Jovi. I wonder who her other celebrity encounters included.

Wednesday, July 11
What I wrote:
Drove to San Simeon, saw Hearst Castle; a mansion built by publisher William Randolph Hearst which includes a main house, three guest houses, indoor pool by tennis courts and outdoor pool, private zoo, and acres and acres of land (the zebras, cows and other animals now roam free)

What I remember: I wanted to live there. I couldn�t see why the Hearst family would ever give up that spread, but my dad mentioned something about taxes. I still kind of do. I�d love to go back there again, so someday another LA-to-San Francisco vacation will have to be planned.

Thursday, July 12
What I wrote:
Drove up coastal route 1 to Monterrey, walked to fisherman�s wharf and Cannery Row

What I remember: Sadly, my appreciation for Steinbeck had not been born in 1990. Mom kept mentioning something about a book and Cannery Row, but it meant nothing to me. All those years we stopped in Chelmsford, Massachusetts, on our way to Maine and it was right next to Lowell, but if she had tried to say anything about Kerouac, it would�ve gone over my head. And so it was with Steinbeck in Northern California. That night, my parents were eager to go for a drive along the picturesque coast. My sister and I were tired of being in the car and just wanted to chill out at the hotel. So they went and we stayed. I don�t know if I would�ve appreciated the drive then, but I would�ve remembered it now. I should�ve gone.

The same thing happened the night before at our San Simeon hotel, only I was the only one who stayed behind. I watched a Royals game on TV � must�ve been ESPN � and saw Bo Jackson run up the outfield wall after running a long way to make a catch. That highlight still gets replayed today, and I saw it live.

Friday, July 13
What I wrote:
Saw Monterrey Bay Aquarium � drove to San Jose, had night swim

What I remember: Man, as a kid if we went two days without swimming in the summer, it was either an extended stretch of rain or an otherwise crappy few days. Oh, how we loved the swimming, and the swimming in California was superb. The Aquarium had fish.

Saturday, July 14
What I wrote:
Saw Winchester Mystery House which has 160 rooms � drove to San Francisco, took trolley bus tour of city and saw Pier 39 � stayed in suites because Holiday Inn was overbooked

What I remember: When you�re 13, you have no idea what you�re going to see and experience in your lifetime. Seeing something for the first time is awe-inspiring. Nowadays, I�d often rather save 40 bucks a night for dinner and beers than to have a kitchen in my hotel room. As for the Mystery House, the intrigue of a superstitious woman who believed she had to keep building onto her house or she�d die was the main draw. Though huge, the house was in the suburbs, the rooms cramped and dark. Hearst�s castle was in the mountains, with a view of the Pacific and acres upon acres of rolling hills and dales and trees. I�d much rather have Hearst�s place than Winchester�s. Not that either is possible, but a kid can dream.

Sunday, July 15
What I wrote:
Took ferry to SF, passed Alcatraz � rode real cable car to Lombard Street � walked to wharf and back to ferry

What I remember: We stayed in Sausalito, across the bay from San Francisco and the sky was that familiar Frisco grey during the ferry crossing. We passed close to Alcatraz and it intrigued me. I wanted so much to visit, to walk on The Rock, to tour the cell blocks. But mom claimed it wasn�t open to the public. Liar. I still remind her of that from time to time.

On the cable car, I insisted on standing on the rail and hanging out � not too far out, but out. And I remember more Rice-a-Roni comments than should be uttered. The sun came out by the time we reached Lombard St., approaching it from the bottom. We walked there, then walked up it, watching the cars wind their way down. It was crowded; clearly that opening scene from Full House (Jess�s favorite show) where they bike down an empty road was taped on a closed set.

Monday, July 16
What I wrote:
Went to Muir Woods with [family friends of mom�s], came within ten feet of a deer � saw blue Cutlass Sierra SL with license plate 2SEP 976 (see July 3), spent afternoon in Holiday Inn�s pool and spa � went to [family friend�s] for dinner

What I remember: The woods were so quiet. I can see the deer now, but at the time I wasn�t ready with my camera, as crappy as it was. Somewhere there�s a picture of two tiny people, Jess and me, standing in front of the massive trunk of a Redwood. I don�t know how clear the day was, but inside the forest it was darker, cooler. The canopy above was high and thick, obscuring any view of the sky one might have there.

Tuesday, July 17
What I wrote:
Got 12:30 p.m. flight out of SF, landed at 8:30 p.m. � no movie!! Went to sleep at 12:30 a.m.

What I remember: I remember Uncle Chic picked us up and then I stayed up until 1 a.m. and didn�t feel tired and took that as confirmation that I was officially Used To California Time.

Previous page: California: That first trip
Next page: The evolution of the band

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?