THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

Friday, Mar. 29, 2002 - 12:23 a.m.

We're back live

I'm finished with work for the night, and I should stay here and write some of the stories for the BlueClaws season preview, but I just can't. My eyes hurt. I'm so tired. I woke up at 7 a.m. with Casey today because I'd gone to sleep at 11 p.m. and I didn't see myself going back to sleep any earlier than 9 a.m., and I really needed to get my ass down to this area to get a haircut and stop by the ballpark and come to work early. I did all of that, but I only got here a little after 4 p.m., and got so little done, comparatively.

I did watch The West Wing after Casey left while I packed, and all of a sudden, as I'm closing a bureau drawer, I hear this huge bang on the floor. I realize that, although it's after 8 a.m. and the bright, warm spring sun makes it seem like later, my annoying pansy-ass neighbor downstairs is pissed at me for moving in my apartment. Not moving into, just moving. He's so unreasonable, and I know I've mentioned it once before, but I don't remember when and I don't have the energy to go find it. The guy won't stand for ANYTHING. I once accidentally had some magazines slide off my bedside table at 1:30 in the morning and although it was a complete accident, something that I'm sure happens in every apartment everywhere at least once per tennant, he felt the need to pound the ceiling. And it came so quickly after the magazines fell that I'm sure he must have a broomstick or something beside his bed so he can quickly reprimand me without getting up. He probably just pulls the stick from his ass.

But I digress. The point was, I watched The West Wing, another great episode for two main reasons: Emily Proctor returning as a guest star and two more mentions of Notre Dame. It was really only one that kicked ass, when C.J. gave the press corps the President's collegiate history and mentioned his major at ND: American Studies. My major! I'm going to be a fictional president on NBC someday!

I'm not working tomorrow because Casey and her mom are coming down -- that's right, Meet the Parents. Or, rather, Parents, They Meet. Well, Moom and My Folks. There. Third try. So it will be a big teacherfest with Easter egg dying and should it be dyeing?

I'm reading On The Road again, and that's good because it's an awesome book and I'm so tired I can't come up with adjectives better than "good" and "awesome."

It sucks going away for a week without internet access (unless you log on for short periods twice and charge it to the room so the paper will pick up the tab and a total of about 30 minutes costs $20). It sucks because you come back and there are TONS of entries to catch up on, and I only made it through Casey's, Bassett's and Heather's. Casey mentioned in one my tendency to chronologically recap trips and vacations and events and days in painstaking detail (my words, not hers) and how she should probably do that, and for some reason it made me want to not do that. I mean, I enjoy it sometimes, and when I go back to read them it helps me feel like I'm back in that place, but sometimes I'd like my entries to be more crafted, more poetic prose. Like Heather's are. And sometimes I'd like them to be short and sweet and hilarious in their one-liners and silly words and observations, like so many of Casey's and Tessa's are. I love them all -- the women and their diaries. They're all great in their own ways.

I just let out a gigantic kitty yawn and I really should go. Good thing it's only back to Little Silver. Perhaps in the morning I can investigate some of the 20 new job e-mails in my account.

Previous page: Spring Training: Heading home
Next page: Dream 3/29/02

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?