THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

Thursday, Dec. 30, 2004 - 2:47 p.m.

Remind me: Where am I not supposed to put Baby?

At times these past few days, it doesn't seem like I'm living my own life. There's been this somewhat detached feeling I've had at times, just kind of floating along, enjoying life, and then wondering if everything's really this good, this pleasant, or if I'm just watching someone else go about his days. I can't really explain it.

Christmas was fine, very enjoyable, just enough time (though I wouldn't have argued with another day or so). I worked hard leading up to the long weekend, and Monday was challenging since I was heading up the department with my supervisor on vacation, but I was rewarded with praise from two of our top editors and then got Tuesday and, in a late development, Wednesday off. I watched what some called a bowl "game" involving a team claiming to be "Notre Dame" down in Rumson at the bar Dave and I used to eat at every Tuesday night, so it was a reunion in a way. And we closed it out around 1 a.m., when the game was well out of hand. But if you take away the early 14-0 score, it was 24-21, which isn't so bad. But why we seem to have so many of our key players missing big games is beyond me. Our best defensive lineman (if not defensive player) Justin Tuck and two receivers, Maurice Stovall and Matt Shelton, were in jeans with their jerseys on. Ridiculous, whatever it was that made that happen. But now it's basketball season and we can hope the team improves before next football season.

We're driving up to Boston tomorrow. I have to work until about 3 p.m., but then we're jumping right on the road to Braintree for a party at Bryan's, and with New Year's Day on Saturday, we don't have to come back until the 2nd, which is nice because then we don't have to drive with hangovers. But for some reason, I wasn't that excited about it until today. Maybe because I wasn't sure I could believe the alleged 3 p.m. departure, but now having seen our schedule of pages to close today and tomorrow, if we are able to stick to it, it will happen. There are only about four scheduled for tomorrow. Today's a heavy load. Dinner at 7:30 in Union Square is looking iffy for me now. I'll have to figure out how to make that phone call later.

Last year's New Year started off quietly, with Casey and me at home. Then I cleaned on New Year's Day while she got over her hangover. This year should be different, starting off with lots of drinking (as the old year will end), and then a day in Massachusetts. But some things are similar. Last year, we were planning a trip to California in February. This year, we're off to Arizona in two weeks.

It's been a good year, and there's a lot on tap for the next one. I look forward to it. It's a shame about Jerry Orbach, though. It's weird how, recently, "Nobody puts Baby in a corner" has become a popular catchphrase recently. Sean Salisbury -- who's generally more loud than insightful with his NFL opinions (and why does he have to pick on John Clayton all the time?) -- can't stop saying it and Zach Braff used it in his last post of the year. Then, eight days later, Jerry dies. What's up with that?

In the event I don't post again until Sunday, Happy New Year to all.

Previous page: Sean Connery's Christmas message
Next page: Almost pointless

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?