THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

Tuesday, Oct. 08, 2002 - 6:45 p.m.

Happy in Asheville

Ah ...

and here I sit, 6:30 in the evening, in a relatively quiet office with just four of my co-workers nearby (and several others in the Main Office down the hall), awating the final proof of a layout I need to check before I can leave. I don't mind the fact that I have to stay late just so I can see the printout of a page that contains text I already painstakingly checked, but it bothers me that until about 3 p.m. each day, nobody on the fact-checking/copy-editing side of the equation sees the pages to be sent that day. We need a better workflow, and better execution of said flow.

Last week, this article indicated that I live in one of the healthiest places in America (Bergen County) and went to school in one of the unhappiest (South Bend). What I find amusing is the explanation of Asheville, N.C., being the happiest place in America. "Women in the quiet community of Asheville report an astoundingly low frequency of depression � 1.4 days per month on average, ranking in the top 2 percent of our survey." 1.4 days per month. Not even a day and a half. And, I'm not just being a guy here, but how much of that depression can be attributed to PMS? If you, just for the heck of argument, say a day, then that means that women in Asheville, N.C., are unhappy for only 9.6 hours a month as the result of forces other than her monthly cycle. Interesting.

I discovered last night that I may be just a little obsessed with fantasy football. I went to bed depressed last night because I was only 5 points ahead of Will heading into the Monday Night game pitting the Bears against the Packers. He had Bears running back Anthony Thomas going. I had Packers running back Ahman Green on my bench (thinking -- wrongly -- that Lamar Smith would have a good day against Arizona), as well as Rams kicker Jeff Wilkins and the Broncos defense, all of which outperformed those I'd started in their places. I refused to watch the game (though I hoped for a Packers blowout, thereby forcing the Bears to abandon their running attack) and I didn't plan on watching the highlights on "SportsCenter" this morning. But I did. And Thomas only rushed for 45 yards, which at one point for every 10 yards, only gave him 4 points for Wills team. I won, 68-67, my lowest scoring total of the season.

I could've been so much more eloquent today. But I'm not.

I'm going to go find out about this story I need to check.

Previous page: I wanna go home
Next page: Retahded (as in late) entry

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?