THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

2001-02-15 - 2:45 a.m.

Long, rambling thoughts from the (early) morning after

The bus groaned up Grapevine pass and then we were coming down into the great sprawls of light. Without coming to any particular agreement we began holding hands, and in the same way it was mutely and beautifully and purely decided that when I got my hotel room in LA she would be beside me. I ached all over for her; I leaned my head in her beautiful hair. Her little shoulders drove me mad; I hugged her and hugged her. And she loved it.

"I love love," she said, closing her eyes. I promised her beautiful love. I gloated over her. Our stories were told; we subsided into silence and sweet anticipatory thoughts. It was as simple as that.

� from On The Road by Jack Kerouac


Sitting here tonight post-Valentine's Day I thought of that one little quote in the passage, those three words � or two, one repeated � "I love love" and thought it would somehow be appropriate to dig it out and include it here. So I did, though Kerouac wouldn't exactly be the ideal celebrity spokesperson for Valentine's Day (there isn't really one of those, but why not? The holiday nothing if not commercial � did I read something somewhere that it was started by a chocolate company to sell candy or am I losing it? � though it is, of course, meant to be a day to tell those you love that you do). I mean, to Kerouac, VD must have had deep, intense meaning, but not in that way. "I love love," Terry said on that bus into LA.

On The Road had its "love" stories, and plenty of them, but I think Tristessa and Maggie Cassidy were Kerouac's best love stories. I've got Kerouac on my mind this Valentine's Day � yes, it's past the midnight hour, into February 15 (just days from Presidents' Day!), but I've yet to go to bed, so it's still Valentine's Day for me, though I had no reason to observe it this year. Anyway, I just found out that a professor of mine from Notre Dame has finished his book about Kerouac, which he was writing while I was taking his class on Kerouac and the Beats. My sister picked it up and is going to have him sign it for me and send it out, so I can't wait for that.


I'm kind of stuck here in a scattered state of mind. It's nearly 3 a.m. and I am certainly tired and I don't really have anything of any length or depth to say � just various thoughts bouncing around in my head like some advanced, fast-paced level of Pong. So I'm breaking this entry up, since I see myself jumping back and forth, and no transition will work as well as the Horizontal Rule.
I tried to remember what I did on past Valentine's Days. Last year it was on Monday, the last day of my 11-day vacation that had taken me to Austin for part of it. I remember buying some CDs, though I have no idea which ones, and driving down to Island Beach State Park, since it was a particularly mild day � though colder with the wind coming off the ocean, I discovered later. But I'd never been there, so I decided to walk around the deserted paths along the bay and through the seaside forests. At one point walking past a marsh, I startled an osprey � or some bird; if I figure out what it really was, I'll update it � which took off, beating its wings laboriously to get off the ground. I jumped, I was so startled, but then I smiled, happy that I stood there alone on the path watching this great bird take flight.

One year in college � sophomore year � I went out to dinner with Bryan and five of our single female friends. When I got back to my dorm room, the phone was ringing, and it was a girl I didn't know, calling to tell me she liked the column I'd written in the campus paper. She called earlier, but I wasn't home, and she didn't feel like leaving a message. We talked for a while; it was one of the more pleasant, interesting experiences I've ever had. I don't know, I can't really describe it better.

Funny � at a loss for words.

The only other Valentine's Day I can remember was in high school. Senior year, I had been seeing Heather for a year and a half, and my high school had the week off. I went and bought 12 different cards � some funny, some sexy, some sweet � bought a dozen roses, and threw in several little gifts here and there. Her father worked from home, so I coordinated with him a few days beforehand, as well as with a friend of ours who went to school with Heather. Then:

� I drove to Heather's high school, waited for the classes to change, and went inside to meet Mandy at Heather's locker. There, I placed a card, a rose, and a note which explained that she had to find the other 11 roses.
� I went out to Heather's car, unlocked it with the spare set of keys her father had given me for this mission, and put another rose and card on the seat, and a compilation tape in the tape deck.
� Went back to Heather's house and scattered the remaining 10 roses, cards and various gifts around the house: one in the kitchen that she'd see when she walked in, one in the dining room, one in the living room we never sat in, one in the TV room we hung out in often, one in the back den we made out in all the time, four in places I can't remember now, and one in her bedroom � which I had to do quickly and quietly, because her father didn't know I knew which bedroom was hers. But I did (oh yeah). In each card, I wrote some silly poem or message or note.

That was basically it. That afternoon, I got a phone call from a very overwhelmed and impressed girlfriend, and after she paid for dinner that night, I think I received my present.

This year I went with my parents and a friend to the Notre Dame-Rutgers men's basketball game, which was a fine way to spend the day � the Irish killed them, 81-57 or something. Rutgers led 1-0 before Notre Dame took the lead for good. The Irish led 18-15 with 12 minutes to go in the first half, then went up 21-15 and the lead never got below six points again. Ah, I loved it.


I read through several diaries tonight, but � and I mean absolutely NO offense to anyone here � didn't really find any VD-related entries that floored me (there were some good ones, but not necessarily Valentine-themed). Which is just as well: I don't think I felt like being floored by a VD entry today. No particular reason, I just didn't. If I had, I would've quoted it (instead of Kerouac) and linked to it, but nothing popped out at me. I'm sure there were some great ones out there.
What is the minimum length of inactivity in a diary before you drop it from your regular rotation? I have a long list of diaries bookmarked � the voyeur in me I suppose � and a few of them have not been touched in weeks. Do I wait a month before editing bookmarks and deleting? Two?

And what happened? Was their computer stolen; did they lose interest? Did some horrendous and drastic life-altering event incapacitate them? (Sorry for the severity of that one, but it did cross my mind.) Is there a D-Land buddy system in which at least one other diarist knows your true identity and can oversee the estate of your diary should something happen?

At some point, I'll just have to move them off the list.


I think it would be cool to have subscribers � I'm talking here of a Notify List � but I think I'd be disappointed, maybe offended, if no one signed up. Maybe a site meter would be cool too, but the same dilemma arises there. I wouldn't want the total to increase primarily from every time I click "Your Diary" from the members area.

Besides, I've said I started this diary for myself, and I intend to keep it that way, to not be swayed or inhibited by the thought of "my readers." I'm not sure how many I have, anyway. My point is, I feel if I got a site meter, that would amount to selling out, in a way, and I don't want to go there.

But I'm definitly moving in that direction. I can feel it.


I think that about wraps it up. I'm tired, it's almost 3:30, and I'm going to wrap up this big V-Day extravanothing by rereading one of my old stories about a man and a woman and inspired by (actually based on) an actual encounter of mine.

Previous page: What I thought six years ago today
Next page: Barenaked Ladies and other sights

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?