THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

2001-08-08 - 10:53 a.m.

8/8/01 doesn't have the same ring to it

Well, apparently Carrie Fischer duct taped her boobs to play Princes Leia in the "Star Wars" movies. That's good enough for me.

I think I'm annoyed that I can go to bed at 1:30 a.m. and wake up at 9:30 a.m. without an alarm. I didn't set an alarm last night. I suppose I got enough sleep because I'm not too tired and I guess I've caught up on rest from my intense two weeks of baseball and road trips. Last night was good � the house to myself, a quiet dinner, back-to-back episodes of "The Simpsons," a nap, the end of a Mets win, "Sex and the City," an hour on the telephone. I feel a bit rejuvinated.

Tonight I'm heading down to Philly for dinner with Jaime and Dave, then tomorrow onto D.C. to see the crew down there. Should be a good two days. Should be a bit of drinking involved. Interesting how that happens: See friends, drink beer.

Looking at the date above, I remember 8/8/88. I was walking down my street towards our tiny center of town and I passed the cemetery by my church. Just inside the gate of the head-high brick wall, two girls I knew from school � they were a year behind me � were at one of the first tombstones inside the cemetery. They saw me and we started talking. Seems they were doing some sort of ritual that involved a candle and a photograph or postcard and it had to be done at 8 p.m. on 8/8/88. I don't remember much more than that, other than that's when I began to realize that Audrey was a little weird.

Unfortunately, despite my day off, there is some work to be done. And I'm hungry, so first things first.

Previous page: Behold, the power of duct tape
Next page: Don't set sail with Captain Morgan

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?