THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

Sunday, Sept. 30, 2001 - 11:29 p.m.

30 days hath September

Wow. September has flown by.

When the month started, I was 24 years old, was covering minor league baseball, my sister lived at home, the Mets weren't so much in contention, prime-time TV was all reruns, Notre Dame hadn't lost a football game, and the Empire State Building was the third-tallest building in New York.

I also had never been to Johnstown or Greensburg or Pittsburgh, Pa. I didn't know how fat T.C. was or what Moom or Dood were like, or how crazy I am for this girl.

I was looking through some photos -- old and recent -- today as I try to organize them. I realized I hadn't yet put my photos from my trip to Seattle and Oregon into an album. That trip was during August 2000. I have scores of photos sitting in boxes that need to be better displayed, either in frames or albums. And as I looked through some pictures taken at the BlueClaws' game on my birthday, I realized that it was just four weeks ago today when I sat on the outfield berm with Dave, Dave, Mia, Jess, Amy and Jaime. It was three days before Casey came for what turned into a two-week visit during which we watched the world change.

September 2001 will be remembered by millions of people for a lot more reasons than my reaching the quarter-century mark.

And now, minutes from October, I look forward to the coming days and weeks and months, the smell of autumn, the chill in the air, the coming holidays. Autumn rejuvinates me. I'm inspired to write, inspired to shoot more photos, inspired to travel and visit new places.

This should be the season of rebirth. I think it is for me.

Previous page: Well, it's cloudy out in Pittsburgh
Next page: Documenting history

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?