THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

Tuesday, Jul. 23, 2002 - 6:08 p.m.

Rated PPG

NOTE: You are about to be possessed by the smooth stylings of Part VI of God knows how many installments in the account of my trip. To start at the beginning, go here. Also, Part Five was updated slightly, so you may want to click back to see that one.

Drunk and perhaps hungover, all four of us sleep in until about 11 a.m. Then, in an effort to use the grill for every meal for a soid straight week, Jim cooks up some corn mush and home fries while T.C. takes a stroll through the yard and continuously ignores Carol's warnings of "T, stay in your yard" every time he ventures near the bushes on the fringe of the property.

Then we're on the road to Greensburg, Casey driving again. One of the things I enjoy about driving around Western Pennsylvania with Casey is the history lesson. She points high school and earlier places where she hung out, worked, went with friends, where Tessa had her prom. Part of the reason I like it is because I do the same thing when driving out-of-town friends around my Jersey Shore landmarks. As I said after the first visit last fall, you get to know someone better when seeing them in their environment. It's like going to the natural history museum, only everything's still alive and not stuffed.

On the way, we stop at Tessa's workplace to see Bassett in her black pants, white shirt and tie and see a sign on a room reserved for the Mangan family from Carlisle reunion and I wonder if it's the same family of the guy from Carlisle I knew at Notre Dame.

Soon we're in Greensburg and Moom's cooking the lasagna and tossing the salad and we're waiting for Tessa to return and eat. Lunch is great, but dessert is a knockout -- ice cream sandwich cake, which consisists of a layer of standard, rectangular ice cream sandwiches placed in a rectangular cake dish; a layer of caramel, fudge and whipped cream; then another layer of each, the whipped cream topping it all off. As soon as Casey and I have a freezer big enough (it's a great case for the freezer-on-top fridge as opposed to the side-by-side model), I'm whipping up one of my own.

After eating, we're off to the movies to see The Powerpuff Girls Movie and I'm sure Casey has more to say about that than I do because, in general, I don't have the capability to instantly memorize lines of dialogue after one viewing. And with the PPG, there's no contest.

On the way home, we stop by an outdoor fair and flea market at a park on a lake. Somehow Moom gets it in her head that I need fudge. I don't need it, but I'll take it. When we find some, she buys it for me. The rest of the time, Casey, Tessa and I make cracks about all the Western PA and Midwestern yokels we see. Three words: Mulletts and Wife Beaters. In all shapes, sizes and colors.

On the walk back to the car, Moom spots a dead snake by the side of the road and points it out -- she's the one who saw it because she was placed in Slytherin House and speaks Snake. When I pointed that out, she felt bad about it. She was never happy about her placement at Hogwart's when she participated in the online Sorting.

For dinner we hit BW3 and introduce Moom to a new Greenburg hangout ("I'm brining the gang from work here for lunch. I'm tired of Friday's.") and the wonders of NTN Trivia. Casey and I have a few beers and play trivia while Moom takes Tessa home because she has to get up early the next day. When she comes back, we finish out our game and head home, calling it a day.

Our visit in with Moom and Tessa is too short, but in order to do all we need to, it is necessary to be on the road on Monday, July 8, and spend the night in South Bend so that we have a full afternoon on Tuesday in Chicago. So Monday morning after showers and breakfast and a quick check of the e-mail, Casey and I make a stop at the liquor store to pick up Kregg's requested cases of Yuengling. But not before Moom tries to give us food. Lots of food. If she had her way, we would've left there with the entire lasagna, a tub of potato salad, a Family Size bag of Tostitos (which we didn't even open), the salad, and probably some frozen dinners. The thing we really want we can't take: The ice cream sandwich cake. Casey makes a comment about all the food Moom is trying to give us.

"When Tessy went to Kentucky," Moom says, "I made her a whole pizza!" Her voice rises and she emphasizes -- "whole pizza!" with raised eyebrows and a touch of pride. What a good Moom.

We make it out of the house not too overburdened, get the beer, and are back on the Turnpike and westward.

Previous page: Becoming a wino, I know
Next page: Buffalo in Ohio

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?