THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

2000-01-01 - 13:10:23

New Year's drive

Still weird.

Rung in the new year in an appropriate way -- in my car. Me, and a few (six or so) other cars on the New Jersey Turnpike. Midnight came as I approached an overpass just before Exit 7. I listened to the Philadelphia countdown on NPR, then saw the fireworks shortly thereafter. First song, after switching stations, was REM's "It's The End of the World As We Know It," then Garth ("Ain't Goin' Down Til The Sun Comes Up"). I arrived at my friend Jaime's about 12:45, quickly got drink in hand, then watched Chicago bring in 2000 -- and thought of Jamie and Brad and Michelle there, and Heather in Austin, all welcoming the new year at that time.

The first person I actually spoke to in 2000, though, was the Turnpike toll collector taking my 70 cents before the bridge into Pennsylvania. The second was the toll collector taking my $1.65 at the exit off the Pennsylvania Turnpike.

It was nice to be reminded that I was not the only one with a job that meant I had to work on the holiday.

Previous page: City by the sea
Next page: Dream 1/20/00

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?