THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

1999-01-13 - 01:08:36

A letter

It's amazing, these feelings I've had today merely because I wrote a letter to an old friend, Julia, sending it off to her college to be forwarded to her wherever she is -- in Brick, last I heard, but possibly elsewhere. And hope. Driving this afternoon and tonight, I thought about her as I listened to tender ballads of Mary Chapin Carpenter and I hoped I've found her and that she gets back to me. I've imagined that she's now single somehow, and we'll go out and I'll tell her how she was the only person I met while dating in high school about whom I ever said, "If I wasn't in a relationship ..." I imagine we'd start dating, hitting it off so well so fast, and I'd spend nights with her, sometimes going there after work to crawl beneath the covers late at night, and she turns to me, barely awake, to snuggle up close to me. Or another night, out for some reason, some function to dress up for, and she's in a tight, slinky black or red dress, her hair done up but with strands falling around her face, the perfect mahogany frame for a work of art. Her beautiful, slender body holding that dress so perfectly, wonderfully elegant legs extended from the curvature of her hips.

I picture a sweet, tender girl just like I knew in high school, days spent talking in physics class ...

But she's probably still attached -- maybe near or already married. "Girls like Mary don't stay single." Not like Julia, either. And all these thoughts will amount to nothing, and we'll meet for lunch someday. But I can still dream -- What have you got if you don't have dreams?

Previous page: And it begins
Next page: Morning rediscovered

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?