THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

1998-08-02 - 23:08:52

Chicagoland

American Road Trip: Chicagoland

SUNDAY, AUGUST 2, ARLINGTON HEIGHTS, ILL. � Finally got a hold of Michelle on the phone � she squealed with excitement at seeing me, and I felt the same way. I arrived just after 4 p.m. and got the nicest, tightest hug I�ve had in a long time. Met her fabulous family and got the best meal of the trip so far � steak, corn, potato, bread, shrimp, then strawberry shortcake, ice cream, whipped cream. Mmmmmmm. After dinner (before dessert), Michelle and I rollerbladed around Arlington Lake, talking most of the time about Patrick � it always seems to be me who gets to talk to the wonderful, pretty ones about their boyfriends. Unlike Heather, Michelle�s not in as perfect a relationship. Anyway ... Then we rented Field of Dreams � great to see, the day after the visit � and retired to bed. Separately, of course.

Long, tight friendship hug
Provides a pleasant welcome �
So good to see you.

MONDAY, AUGUST 3, ARLINGTON HEIGHTS � Another one of those days when I got to sleep in � I love it. It gives the trip a nice travel/vacation and leisure visit balance. When I got up, I caught up with the e-mail and finished as Michelle returned form work. We sat on the floor in the hall and talked, then showered and went to the bank.

Lunch at Magglio�s � a wonderful, nice Italian place that played a lot of Sinatra and would not have let us in in shorts and t-shirts if it were not 3 p.m. We talked more and I paid. Next stop was the mall, where we were able to browse and talk. I did buy a wonderful aerial photo of a 1995 ND game that shows campus well. With Rob Finch over the next day, we determined it was the Vanderbilt game, for which I held Bob Davie�s markerboard as he filled in for Lou Holtz; therefore, I was on the field there with the team in that picture. We also checked out some knowledge store in which we could�ve spent a lot of money. I must pick up Undaunted Courage, about Lewis and Clark.

From the mall it was on to the pool, where Michelle supervised the guards and I watched it all. We had an opportunity there to talk some more. When everyone had left, we stayed to swim and slide and soak in the hot tub. It was wonderful � swimming and chatting and enjoying the company and the privacy. Just as I had hoped (because I�d thought it�d be nice if we could stay). And at one point during the working hours, after she�d gotten up to tend to one responsibility or another, Michelle returned to tell another story, standing behind me with her hands on my shoulders, then clasping them around my neck in front of me. She�s great. The radio played Savage Garden, and she said she liked the song. I don�t. Or, at least I didn�t, until she said that. I immediately pictured her in a fabulous dress at some Notre Dame dance or another, arms around someone � I wish it were me � dancing to that song. It was easy to see, and now I like the song more. Michelle too.

In the dark black Chicago night suburb of Rolling Meadows, really, we swam beneath the landing patterns of O�Hare. Just the two of us in the immense pool expanse of cool August night with a slide and hot tub all to outselves. And I felt so comfortable there that night with Michelle whom I only knew in a certain context before this stop on the trip � I knew her only at The Observer, and other meetings but not like this � one on one, and at her home, no less. And we got along so well and I feel I�m in love with her. I�m not sure what it is about her � that�s how I know. I do know we have the same passions, and many of the same interests, and we get along so well � all a great start.

I heard on the radio today that on average, one person falls in love six times in a lifetime. I had one with Heather (L.), and I�m pretty sure Heather C. counts too. Michelle seems likely, making it three for me in about five years. I guess I�m bunching them together. I�m feeling the pain of separation from them after leaving them following great visits. That�s how I know. They�re the only three women I�ve ever gotten emotional over. Heather's in a strong relationship, and my love for her is that of a strong friendship. Michelle and Patrick aren�t so tight � as I see it, and have heard � that I almost feel I could say something ... But I doubt I will, unless, maybe, I do end up in, or near South Bend soon. I wonder if I told her I loved her � without asking anything � if it�d mean anything to her.

I tried to reach Tim again at the Tribune, and of course, he didn�t call me back. I�ll try David first thing in the morning. Talked to Debbie and I�ll be there tomorrow � back in South Bend. Man, that�ll be different I�m sure.

Patrons have gone home
But we stay for a night swim
A perfect night, too

Previous page: Field of Dreams, Dyersville, Iowa
Next page: South Bend

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?