THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

1998-03-13 - 20:33:52

Sunset sentiments

Watching the slow sea-sinking sun where red meets blue at the horizon and above, the sky grows darker, turning from dusk to dark, evening to night -- a sense of smallness in a huge world, the realization that the glowing sun -- our nearest star -- lies millions of miles away. I think of tiny Earth turning, an awe-inspiring thought in itself, and of that sun on the Pacific horizon which still hangs high above Hawaii and has not yet risen in Asia -- in that moment I am in awe of the world, both ours and God's, that I search to describe that feeling -- if only to myself -- and I wonder if I'll ever experience it again. And I always do, the next time I stand or sit, watching the Earth turn me away from the sun as it melts into the ocean or across the Indiana fields or behind New England's mountains, leaving only its brilliant colors above, a tease to those of us deprived of the show. With scenes and thoughts like these, I could easily pass my day pondering -- for, to paraphrase, it is a great art to ponder.

Previous page: Can't anyone here drive?
Next page: Time to go home

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?